Childhood immunisations

Childhood immunisations image

Home » Your Health and Care » Childhood immunisations

Immunisations are available against lots of infectious diseases which can cause serious illness or, in some cases, can be fatal. The NHS strongly recommends that children are vaccinated against these infections and has published a handy list of childhood immunisations and the age at which they’re usually given.

You can check your child’s vaccination record in their Red Book.  If you think your child is behind on any immunisations, you can speak to your general practice, or alternatively attend any of the catch-up sessions which are offered at venues across Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes.

If you’re pregnant then you should also make sure you are protected against some nasty infections which can make you very poorly and can even cause damage to your baby.  Get more information on recommended vaccinations here.

Our current schedule of catch-up clinics is below. This will be updated as more sessions are arranged.


If your child is up to Year 7 or pre-school age, or if you’re pregnant (all of these are walk-in clinics)

BEDFORD BOROUGH

Queens Park Children’s Centre, Marlborough Road, Bedford, MK40 4LE

  • Monday 19 August (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)

Pine Cones Children’s Centre, Slade Walk, Bedford, MK41 7SA

  • Tuesday 16 July (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)
  • Tuesday 20 August (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)

Church Lane Community Centre, Goldington, Bedford, MK41 0PW

  • Friday 19 July (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)
  • Friday 23 August (9:00 am to 3:00 pm)
CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE

Shefford Children’s Centre, School Lane, Shefford, SG17 5XA

  • Monday 22 July (12:30 to 3:30 pm)
  • Monday 26 August (12:30 to 3:30 pm)
  • Monday 23 September (12:30 to 3:30 pm)
  • Monday 28 October (12:30 to 3:30 pm)
  • Monday 25 November (12:30 to 3:30 pm)
  • Monday 23 December (12:30 to 3:30 pm)

Parkside Hall, Woburn Street, Ampthill, MK45 2HX

  • Tuesday 23 July (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)
  • Tuesday 27 August (9:00 am to 3:00 pm)
  • Tuesday 24 September (9:00 to 14:00)
  • Tuesday 29 October (9:00 to 14:00)
  • Tuesday 26 November (9:00 to 14:00)
  • Tuesday 24 December (9:00 to 14:00)

Sandy Children’s Centre, Laburnum Road, Sandy, SG19 1HQ

  • Wednesday 24 July (9:00 am to 3:30 pm)
  • Wednesday 28 August (9:00 am to 3:30 pm)
  • Wednesday 25 September (13:30 to 15:30)
  • Wednesday 30 October (13:30 to 15:30)
  • Wednesday 27 November (13:30 to 15:30)

Leighton Buzzard Children’s Centre, East Street, Leighton Buzzard, LU7 1EW

  • Thursday 25 July (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)
  • Thursday 29 August (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)
LUTON

Farley Hill Community Centre Delphine Close, Luton, LU1 5RE

  • Wednesday 4 September (09:00 to 11:45)
  • Wednesday 9 October (09:00 to 11:45)
  • Wednesday 6 November (09:00 to 11:45)
  • Wednesday 5 December (09:00 to 11:45)

Bury Park Community Centre, 161 Dunstable Road, Luton, LU1 1BW

  • Tuesday 6 August (9:00 am to 12:00 noon)
  • Tuesday 3 September (09:30 to 11:45)
  • Tuesday 8 October (09:30 to 11:45)
  • Tuesday 5 November (09:30 to 11:45)

Hockwell Ring Family Hub, Mayne Avenue, Luton, LU4 9LB

  • Thursday 8 August (1:00 to 3:30 pm)
  • Thursday 5 September (13:00 to 15:30)
  • Thursday 10 October (13:00 to 15:30)
  • Thursday 7 November (13:00 to 15:30)
  • Thursday 5 December (13:00 to 15:30)

St Francis Church, Carteret Road, Luton, LU2 9JZ

  • Friday 9 August (9:30 am to 12:00 noon)
  • Friday 6 September (09:30 to 11:45)
  • Friday 11 October (09:30 to 11:45)
  • Friday 8 November (09:30 to 11:45)
  • Friday 6 December (09:30 to 11:45)
MILTON KEYNES

Pebbles Newlyn Place, MK, MK6 2LP

  • Tuesday 10 September (9:00 to 15:30 pm)

Hedgerows Playzone, Netherfield, MK MK6 4NP

  • Tuesday 15 October (09:00 to 11:00 am)
  • Tuesday 12 November (09:00 to 11:00 am)
  • Tuesday 10 December (09:00 to 11:00 am)

The Rowans Family Centre, Moorfoot, Milton Keynes, MK11 2BD

  • Wednesday 10 July (1:00 to 4:00 pm)
  • Wednesday 16 October (13:30 to 15:30)
  • Wednesday 13 November (13:30 to 15:30)
  • Wednesday 11 December (13:30 to 15:30)

Daisy Chain (The Lounge), Melrose Avenue, West Bletchley, MK3 6PS

  • Thursday 15 August (9:00 am to 3:30 pm)
  • Thursday 12 September (09:30 to 12:30)
  • Thursday 17 October (09:30 to 12:30)
  • Thursday 14 November (09:30 to 12:30)
  • Thursday 12 December (09:30 to 12:30)

Tickford Meadow Thames Drive, Newport Pagnell, MK16 9DS

  • Friday 13 September – All day (9:00 am to 15:30)
  • Friday 18 October (09:00 to 12 noon)
  • Friday 15 November (09:00 to 12 noon)
  • Fridy 13 November (09:00 to 12 noon)

For children and young people Year 8 and over (HPV from Year 8; DTP and Meningitis ACWY from Year 9)

BEDFORD BOROUGH

Wootton Community Centre, Harris Way, Wootton, Bedford, MK43 9FZ

  • Saturday 22 June (appointments available 9:30 am to 3:00 pm, or walk-in 10:00 am to 1:30 pm only) – to book, call 0300 790 0594
  • Saturday 6 July (walk-in 10:00 am to 1:30 pm)
CENTRAL BEDFORDSHIRE

Sandy Children’s Centre, Laburnum Road, Sandy, SG19 1HQ

  • Saturday 15 June (9:30 am to 3:00pm) – booking required 0300 790 0594

Downside Community Centre, Suffolk Road, Dunstable, LU5 4ES

  • Saturday 6 July (appointments available 9:30 am to 3:00 pm, or walk-in 10:00 am to 2:00 pm only) – to book, call 0300 790 0594
LUTON

Luton Irish Forum, 102 Hitchin Road, Luton, LU2 0ES

  • Saturday 8 June (appointments available or walk-in 10:00 am to 2:00 pm) – to book, call 0300 790 0594
  • Saturday 13 July (appointments available or walk-in 10:00 am to 2:00 pm) – to book, call 0300 790 0594
MILTON KEYNES

Eaglestone Community Centre, Harrier Court, Milton Keynes, MK6 5BZ

  • Saturday 22 June (appointments available or walk-in 9:30 am to 2:30 pm) – to book, call 0300 790 0594

Conniburrow Community Centre, 39 Conniburrow Boulevard, Milton Keynes, MK14 7DX

  • Saturday 6 July (appointments available or walk-in 9:30 am to 2:30 pm) – to book, call 0300 790 0594
View all news

Latest news and highlights

Blog

18 July 2024

Black leaders awareness day: Alexis Keir

As a Lutonian I was honoured to be asked by BLMK Health and Care Partnership to share my thoughts on leadership for Black Leaders Awareness…

News

17 July 2024

The contributions of Black leaders will be celebrated at a series of…

Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes Integrated Care Board (BLMK ICB) and other local NHS organisations are leading advocates for diversity and inclusion, and have scheduled…

News

12 July 2024

New statistics show more patients are being seen in our general practices

New data on appointments, published by NHS England, show that general practices in Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes offered over 5,684,000 appointments during the year 2023/24, an increase of 4.9%…

News

11 July 2024

Video guides will help people with autism and learning disabilities prepare for…

An enhanced set of video guides to help autistic people prepare for health appointments will be created, following the award of funding from Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes Integrated Care…

News

5 July 2024

90 local care homes are using remote monitoring toolkits to reduce hospital…

The Whzan Blue Box contains various wireless, portable instruments which care home staff can use to measure vital signs such as pulse, blood glucose, oxygen levels, respiratory rate, body temperature…

News

4 July 2024

Improving resident care: 80% of local care homes switch to digital records…

More than 80% of care homes in Bedfordshire, Luton and Milton Keynes have now switched to digital records from paper-based systems, with the help of the Digitising Social Care (DiSC)…